I’ve got a secret called Cantina Bar

3 Feb

bbIMG_0864

Welcome to Cantina Bar: the home of Mexican street food in the heart of Balmain!

IMG_0859 IMG_0862

An intricate web of prayer flags lace the ceiling and framed portraits of Freida Carlo lookalikes cover the walls. The place is cosy and intimate, and will serve you an amazing spread of quesadillas, tacos, nachos and anything that pairs well with salsa and hot sauce (and not your average hot sauce, either; Charlotte discovered some questionable looking bottles). Be prepared to wait a little while for a table on weekends (but we waited only 15 minutes, so don’t worry): friendly bar staff keep you entertained as you choose from their solid list of cocktails, imported beers and wines, and you can always watch one of the old Latin films projected onto the wall.  The food menu is designed to be shared, so bring ya mates and order a few plates. And what’s even better? You won’t find anything cheaper in this part of Sydney. Win for the masses!

Cantina Bar can be found here: 350 Darling St, Balmain, 2041. Open Tuesday-Sunday 5pm-midnight. Now goooo!!

Let me know if you can handle the hot sauce (and what you think of the Dominatrix “Hurts so good”, complete with cufflinks)…

bcf

e

Char, Thea,Ashley and I met here last night to make mischief. I’d like very much to go into details… but what happens in Cantina Bar stays in Cantina Bar (and a girl never tells).

But what I can tell you is that we all ate too many tacos, drowned Churros in chilli chocolate, and drank champagne until closing. For her birthday, Thea gave Char the latest Vogue and a bunch of flowers (the way to a girl’s heart… boys, take note). We laughed a lot and cried a bit.

Some things I realised last night:

1. Most things are not black and white, and I should stop giving advice based on the assumption that they are.

a

2. I don’t know anything. At all. (Aristotle got it right).

d

3. Char, Thea Jane and Ash are three of the strongest, most resilient women I know: if I had a heart half as big and strong as any of them, who knows how rich and bold my life would be. Each of them have a particular beauty and strength of spirit (Char’s perceptiveness and kindness; Thea’s understanding and compassion; Ashley’s forgiveness) to which I will always aspire.

aa

4. Tacos always go well with champagne. Always.

cc

5. Oh my God, you are one beautiful person!

          h

P.S. Sorry for the poor quality iPhone photos. But I didn’t want to get salsa in my DSLR!

Now go eat tacos! Lots!!

xxx

2 Responses to “I’ve got a secret called Cantina Bar”

  1. Helen February 3, 2013 at 4:24 pm #

    This place looks amazing!!!

    Please come and check out my latest post if you have a few minutes spare 🙂

    http://www.fragile-bird.blogspot.co.uk

    Helen

    X

    • cait and marten February 3, 2013 at 9:18 pm #

      Helen! What a sweet blog you’ve got there. Love it!
      But I see you’re from South Wales… any chance of coming to Sydney for Mexican?! If you are, let a gal know! 😉
      xx

Leave a Reply

