Beach hair and mangoes

8 Jan

I am writing with sand in my hair and salt on my eyelashes, wearing only a bikini and eating a mango.

And guess what? It’s 37 degrees (99F) outside!

I spent the morning at Bronte beach soaking up the sun, swimming and admiring the lifeguards. Bronte is just south of Bondi; between the two beaches is a breathtaking clifftop walk looking out to sea. And it takes less than half an hour. (Do it. Instructions here.)

I’m quickly discovering that one of the best characteristics of Sydney is its beach culture.

There’s nothing like kicking off your shoes, running along the sand and diving headlong into a cold, roaring wave. That first plunge into the water, when everything goes silent…

So I’m just filing a missing person’s report (for myself) to save you all the trouble. If (when) I disappear, look for me at the beach. But which beach? I’m going to a different beach every day, so try them all! Bring a towel and money for chips!

P.S. I’ll be wearing a sky blue Seafolly bikini. Don’t steal it.

IMG_0599IMG_0600IMG_0618

Somewhere between Bronte and Bondi

IMG_0605

The latest addition to the summer wardrobe:bikiniDSC_0627 DSC_0625

Beach hair and mangoes: always a great combination

 DSC_0645

Sending all of my love and thoughts to my brother fighting fires today, as well everybody in the area facing “catastrophic” fire warnings. Be safe!!

xxx

2 Responses to “Beach hair and mangoes”

  1. morganvsmorgan January 8, 2013 at 7:40 am #

    I was doing that on sunday! Only a day trip unfortunately, but enough to get me sunburnt…hahaha. Looks like you’re having the best time!

    • clouisehodder January 8, 2013 at 8:28 pm #

      Ooh! Which beach?! I’m trying Coogee today. 🙂 Yep, sunburn = he worst. I keep forgetting to put sunscreen on until a couple of hours in the sun… that’s not how its meant to work! haha.
      P.S. Loving your blog! x

Leave a Reply

